Good way to end a week

BULLETIN: Happy Easter to those who celebrate this day. Happy Sunday to those who do not.

Hi everyone,

Sandy Asher poses outside her Lancaster City Home. Photo:Shahan


I heard from Sandy Asher yesterday with not one but two nice pieces of news. First, Sandy’s wonderful picture book, CHICKEN STORY TIME, has been nominated for the Kansas Reading Association’s 2018 Bill Martin Jr. Picture Book Award! Way to go Sandy! If you haven’t picked up a copy of her book, you need to pronto.

The second piece of good news is that SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK, the play that Sandy wrote based on poems from my collected works (at the time), is about to be performed again, this time at The Episcopal Academy in Newtown Square, PA on May 19. I’ve seen it performed more than once and love it each time. It opened with its world premier here in Springfield at the Vandevort Theatre in 2004. I don’t know how many times it has been performed. Maybe Sandy will remember. I believe it was also performed in Europe on one occasion. If I’m wrong about that, it makes a good story.

12 comments on “Good way to end a week

  1. Happy Easter morning, David! What a nice surprise to find your post about Chicken Story Time and Somebody Catch My Homework! Much appreciated. I honestly don’t know how many times the play has been performed, but, yes, it was done abroad. The Czech Republic maybe? At a summer program, I think, for children who were learning English. Does that sound familiar?

    • Better than finding a chocolate rabbit? Okay, better than finding a small jellybean? In any event, congratulations! Homework might have been performed in the Czech Republic. I think that sounds great. Let’s go with it. Love and XOs.

  2. Hello, Sandy & David! Congratulations and Bravo to both of you, always!! I directed the first production of “Somebody Catch My Homework” at the Vandivort and it was very well received. In fact, our local reviewer and a theatre class from MSU, watching it on assignment, stated that they wished it had been longer. Such clever story-telling! By the way, the young man playing the lead is now a successful lawyer. Thank you both for sharing your incredible talents!

    • Hi Maxine! Thank you for coming by this morning and adding your perspective to the play. I well remember your talent and skill in bringing the play to life on stage. I sat in the back of the room and watched with genuine pleasure! And of course on opening night I felt ten feet tall to hear those talented young actors standing up there performing my poems that Sandy had so skillfully woven into her play.

Leave a Reply

