My June Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,

Here’s my wheel poem.

I sought to sit
and in a jiffy
jot a thought
you’d think was spiffy,
but alas,
it came out iffy,
so I flushed it
down the biffy.

The moral is,
and this is real,
poets should never
wheel and deal.

3 comments on “My June Word of the Month poem

  1. In My Wheelhouse

    In my wheelhouse
    chocolate waits.
    (Not the worst
    of any fates.)
    So does bubbly–
    no– not champs–
    only seltzer
    lights my lamps.
    Lots of books,
    a song or three,
    also waiting
    there for me.
    Kids, grands, friends,
    I’ve got a bunch.
    And lastly–
    yeah!–
    you’ve got
    a hunch…
    time to write,
    to plot, to scheme.
    Time to have
    the writer’s dream.
    Not awards,
    (I’ve got a few)
    but just good words.
    The best will do.

    ©2017 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

