I know it’s just a tree but . . .

REMINDER: Don’t forget, everyone. Tomorrow is my summer back yard virtual blog party. Be there!

Hi everyone,

You’ve heard me talk enough about our three hackberry trees in the back yard to know how fond I am of them. This one is dying, section by section. A few weeks ago one part fell. Yesterday I looked out and saw this.

I know it’s just a tree, but …

18 comments on “I know it’s just a tree but . . .

  1. Wow, that’s too bad, David…to see something so grand fall, while still bring forth green life. Perhaps you can reclaim some of the wood as a table or art piece, so you’ll have something to hold onto?

    • Thanks, Matt. I have a friend who is a wood worker. I might see if he thinks hackberry wood lends itself to his craft. Part of the tree is still standing but we’ll have it taken out too. I’m sure it will fall, too, if we don’t.

      • I don’t think hackberry lens itself to carving as well as other woods, but he might be able to craft you something – even if it was just a slice of a cross-section, you could place a book cover illustration on it and then have it sealed as a wall hanging. Regardless, I hope your’e able to salvage at least a piece of it.

    • (:>
      Thanks again, Matt. I’ll let you know if anything good develops. I do have a wooden plaque on a wall with the cover of my first book decoupaged on it. That one goes waaaay back!

  2. This has certainly been a week of “loss” for us, dear David! I’m always sad to see a beautiful tree die, as well. (…unless it has long thorns – like Russian Olives – those are not so missed!)

    Here are a few more ideas to use your tree…
    1. Cut many cross sections and use as “garden stones” in your yard. They won’t last forever, but will be fun while they do
    2. Cut longer chunks of the trunk, and use to make a gnome or fairy house. Have you seen these? Very cute!
    3. Cut chunks of branches and use to make candle holders. Pretty simple to do. (I have some in my house using aspen.)
    4. Cut, stack, and let it dry for the next “Bonfire Blog Party!” (or perhaps a real bonfire or two.)

    Take care, and enjoy your memories! Su

    PS – Are the fish taking shelter in the branches that are submerged in the lake? Have any other critters found a way to have fun with this unexpected “visitor” to Goose Lake?

    • Holy cow, Susan! My only saw is at least fifty years old and so rusted I’m afraid its teeth would fall off if I pressed it into use. You are way to clever for me. I might write a poem about a bonfire farewell though. Sort of a Viking sendoff. Thanks!

  3. Perhaps “tree” can be your next WOM, David? I’m sorry about your tree, just wrote about three (THREE) very old & large maple trees that were taken down on a street nearby. They were diseased & the city made the owner take them. When I stopped, a small crowd had gathered & the owner was upset saying goodbye. I hope you will do something special with a part of your hackberry!

  4. Just a tree?! ‘Just a tree’ does not suit such a gem of a living organism! Not only does this wonderous tree breathe, it helps us breath good, clean air, holds the ground below us in place, provides a home or lookout for animals, food for all, nesting material for our feathered friends, wood for us to build with or roast hot dogs over, the stump is good to sit on, but the ground beneath is better because of the shade it provides, beside the fact that this life makes its own food from sunshine and water, and it communicates with other trees with an elaborate underground root system (not sure about hackberries yet, but other trees have been shown to). (BREATHING). I’m not usually one for run on sentences, but when my typing has to keep up with my thoughts, that is rather how it works out.
    Ok, so I’m a little biased about trees, but one must agree that they are very complex and interesting life forms and worthy of our admiration. I hope one of the above suggestions goes into play and you have a tangible memory from your tree-mate. Susan is FULL of ideas (I like her!), but it might be more work that it sounds like you have time for. With the new sunny spot maybe you can plant some milkweed for the poor Monarch Butterflies…

    • My goodness, Janine! I’m glad you thought to take a breath after all those good, beautiful thoughts. You do my poor departed tree honor, a fitting farewell I must say. I’ll plant another tree nearby but I also like the idea of remembering the Monarchs.

  5. “I know it’s just a tree, but…”

    It was my tree
    My breath of fresh air―
    My friend

    I share your sadness, David. Anything one loves is never just a . . .

  6. oops! Forgot a line, David.

    “I know it’s just a tree, but . . .”

    It was my tree.
    The tree that I loved.
    My breath of fresh air―
    My friend

    • Cory, you are so sweet. I know how you love trees, too, and take such wonderful pictures of them. Thank you for writing a poem for me. XO

Leave a Reply

