Reporting the theft of three days

Hi everyone,

I can’t believe it’s Thursday! What happened to the other days? I’ve only been in my car twice this week so I’ve been here keeping an eye on the calendar and STILL Monday-Wednesday somehow disappeared. I don’t know where to report this. The folks at 911 might think me daft for reporting the theft of time. If you have other ideas, let me know. Meanwhile, I’m going to keep a closer eye on the rest of this week.

Do you have fireflies yet where you live? Ours are entertaining us now, taking me back to times when we put them in jars and smeared a few on our ring fingers. Now I just sit and enjoy. They are one of nature’s gifts on slow, late spring evenings. Old people have it made. We know when we have to exert ourselves, and when it’s better to pour something soothing and love being entertained ringside.

15 comments on “Reporting the theft of three days

  1. I have lost a few days recently. Very annoying. Did you take that picture of the swan? It shows a perfect heart between its wings! It looks like either you are a master photographer or a master Photoshopper. I’m guessing it is the former.

    • Hi, Rosi. Isn’t it a great shot? I didn’t take it but I’m thinking my son Jeff did. He gets some wonderful pictures.

  2. Now at 80 the time is really flying. I think it also is when you keep busy. My days are packed with the things I want to do. Fireflies have gone the way of frogs and toads, here. Connie Currie 

    On Thu, Jun 15, 2017 at 01:01 AM, Children’s Author David L. Harrison’s Blog wrote:

    davidlharrison posted: “Hi everyone,

    I can’t believe it’s Thursday! What happened to the other days? I’ve only been in my car twice this week so I’ve been here keeping an eye on the calendar and STILL Monday-Wednesday somehow disappeared. I don’t know where to report this. Th”

    • Busy is a wonderful invention, Connie. I’m glad that you have perfected it too! Thanks for coming by this morning.

  3. It is good to know that others enjoy the entertainment show put on by nature. I discovered lightening bugs, as we called them, when I would visit relatives each summer on the mainland. So fun to chase, so hard to catch…

    What marvelous creatures, thought I
    as they flash and glow in the sky.
    Elusive for the young to chase
    while old folks watch in leisure pace,
    entertained by nature twice
    bugs and kids, a wonderful life!

    Thanks David, for bringing back the memories!

    • Good morning, Mary Nida! I bet that’s why so many people my age fall. They forget whether they’re getting out of bed or into it!

  4. Someone stole my time this week.
    What a scoundrel! What a sneak!
    Wish that it would soon return,
    No such luck, I sadly learn.

    • No such luck, I sadly learn.
      That time is gone. It won’t return.
      They’ll never catch the little sneak
      Who stole my first three days this week!

  5. LOL!! You’ll just never know how much I like “thinking and writing” first thing in the morning! Love what you did here!

Leave a Reply

