Walking to oblivion

Hi everyone,

Yesterday I watched a carpenter bee walking along the edge of our pool. It could no longer fly although what remained of its wings were whipping the air the best they could.

I don’t know much about carpenter bees but honeybees only last two or three weeks when they are assigned to the field to bring in nectar, pollen, and water for the hive. By then their wings and body give out and they perish.

5 comments on “Walking to oblivion

  1.  In other words, they die of overwork. This reminds me of many, mostly men who devote their lives to a job and when they retire are dead within a year for lack of purpose. They were born to work. Connie Currie

    On Thu, Jun 22, 2017 at 07:46 AM, Children’s Author David L. Harrison’s Blog wrote:

    davidlharrison posted: “Hi everyone,

    Yesterday I watched a carpenter bee walking along the edge of our pool. It could no longer fly although what remained of its wings were whipping the air the best they could.

    I don’t know much about carpenter bees but honeybees only las”

    • I agree with you. Without purpose, life seems harder. I, too, see a metaphor in the carpenter bee walking on the edge of the deep water.

  2. I often work like this crazy fool,
    blindly staggering too close to the pool.
    We all should learn from such busy bees,
    Before we nose dive past our knees!

    Late, late, late today! Busy today….LOL! Heading to bed before I take that nose dive!

  3. I did this pretty late, David. It was almost 10 p.m. last night when I realized I hadn’t read your blog! A jaunt to Cheyenne took up most of the day.

Leave a Reply

