You never know where you’ll find a moose

Hi everyone,

I heard yesterday from a good friend, a professor on the west coast, that she’s featuring one of my poems in one section of her upcoming text. This isn’t a done deal yet so I’ll save the details for now, but the poem is an old favorite from WILD COUNTRY. It’s this one.

Moose At Dusk

At shadowy dusk,
when trees take faces
and stones move,
I hurry for home
thinking only
of leaving the forest
before full dark—
I’ve stayed too long.

When from the deepening gloom
you materialize
like a phantom beast—
high shouldered, massive,
mute.

Caught by surprise
(uncomfortable)
I stare,
thinking how easily
you knew I was here.

Before my eyes you blend
with shadows, disappear.
I cannot blink you back,
but still you’re there.

Knowing I’m not alone,
I double my steps
and jog for home.

(c) by David Harrison (from WILD COUNTRY, Wordsong/Boyds Mills Press)
Posted with permission of the author

19 comments on “You never know where you’ll find a moose

  1. Reading a Poem About. . .

    Lovely poem,
    lovely surprise,
    when you open
    heart and eyes.

    Then poem travels,
    eye to ear.
    Soon everyone
    can see and hear

    This song of outdoors,
    moose and bear,
    and little natures
    everywhere.

    Thank you poet.
    Thank you poem.
    I can carry
    outside home.

    ©2017 Jane Yolen all rights reserved

    • Good morning, dear Jane. Thank you for the gift of this lovely poem. I love it. And so, if it knew, and could comprehend the compliment, would the moose. XO

  2. I shake my head
    and rub my eyes.
    Did I just see a
    majestic surprise?

    Who will believe me
    When I’m not sure?
    Was is a beast
    or just a blur?

    If others scoff
    I won’t fight.
    I’ll cherish my vision
    with secret delight.

    • Dear Susan,
      I’ve been out and about with family all day and just now have a few minutes to enjoy your poem before we sit down to dinner. Thank you so much for your time and skill in helping celebrate the occasion when I encountered the moose in Alaska.

  3. You have captured the experience perfectly, David. My husband and I honeymooned on Isle Royale, which has a moose/wolf population. The rangers said we would not likely see wolves, though we did see evidence of them. The chance to see a moose was better, but by our last day, we had resigned ourselves to leave without seeing one. On the last leg of a hike, we came around a curve and down a hill next to the water where there stood–a moose! My husband had the better vantage point, but was so stunned that he couldn’t find his camera, so I got the only photo of that “high shouldered, massive, mute” beast. What a thrill!

Leave a Reply

