Young praying mantis

Hi everyone,

Changing the subject from recent days, here’s a little character I took as it slowly made its way down the outside door facing when we were sitting on the patio last night. I’ve turned the picture sideways to show it off better. Here’s a poem to go with it. Not a perfect fit but maybe it will do.

Praying Mantis

If I could roar
Like a dinosaur,
I wouldn’t have to
Hang on plants,
Putting up
With pesky ants.

If I could run
Like a dinosaur,
I wouldn’t have to
Sit so still,
I’d lunge and leap
To get my fill.

But I can’t roar
Like a dinosaur,
Cannot gallop
After prey,
I have to wait
If it takes all day.

(c) David L. Harrison
Reprinted from Now You See Them,
Now You Don’t. From Charlesbridge.

4 comments on “Young praying mantis

  1. I have to wait every day many times for my mate. He forages with time and dismisses
    scheduled rendez-vous-s. I’m not the type to bite his head off though. So we soldier on for 30 years.

    • What a lucky fella he is, my friend. Losing one’s head, I suppose, would be a handicap, particularly while riding a bicycle.

Leave a Reply

