Every book starts with a “what if”

ANNOUNCEMENT: Kathy Temean is featuring Giles Laroche today on her blog at https://kathytemean.wordpress.com/2017/08/05/illustrator-saturday-giles-laroche/#comment-77773 . I hope you’ll go check it out. Giles is the artist-half of NOW YOU SEE THEM, NOW YOU DON’T and A PLACE TO START A FAMILY. He gives a good, thoughtful interview.

Hi everyone,


My good friend and colleague Mary Jo Fresch had one of those “what if” moments yesterday that could lead to another collaboration for the education market. I love working with her and hope this will lead to our 7th book together.

Mary Jo and Hank and Sandy and I will be on a trip together next month but I’m guessing we won’t get much writing done then. Can’t even cross the trip off to research. But maybe we’ll sneak-talk about a book while we’re together.

Here’s a poem that sprang from one of our earlier efforts.

Need a Bigger Tank

I put two guppies
in a tank.

One was Bob.
One was Frank.

One of them played
a little prank.

Bob’s a girl
or else it’s Frank.

(C) 2013 by David L. Harrison
Reprinted from LEARNING THROUGH POETRY: Level D
Short Vowels
Shell Education