The caress

Hi everyone,

Some of you may remember early in the spring when I posted a picture of two hackberry trees on our back yard that have been growing closer to touching with their outstretched limbs.

The Caress

Once they were sprouts,
slender shoots, shapeless limbs,
fragile roots tentatively probing the dark
for stamina to make it through the winter.

It took years of seasons
to grow confidence,
siphon strength from soil,
thicken limbs, broaden leaves,
years more to sense
the presence of a neighbor,
each seeking the same sun.

Decades pass, leave their rings,
birds without number
rest on their branches,
raise their young.
Storms throw their fury,
ice breaks limbs,
roots dig deeper,
trunks show the girth of mid-age.

Two trees aging side by side
as friends, or lovers, might,
if trees knew of such human imbuement’s.
And with each season fingers of their limbs
reach out as if longing to touch, to clasp,
to consummate the prophesy
of a lifetime.

The moment comes.
Their leaves meet,
seem to caress.
Humans viewing the moment
read into the natural act what they will.

(c) by David L. Harrison

15 comments on “The caress

  1. This is lovely. I think you might really enjoy reading The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben. Your tree couple have probably known each other much longer than you suspect.

    • Hello, Diane. I’m so glad you stopped by today! Thank you for your kind words and especially for the suggestion. I just checked the book on Amazon.com and it looks intriguing.

  2. I too thought about The Hidden Life of Trees after reading your wonderful poem, David. Your poem seemed to call for a response, so here’s a few lines. Thanks for the morning inspiration.

    After a long steady marriage
    with seedlings and storms
    dreams and droughts
    their leaves brush,
    their branches intertwine,
    their roots still grow toward one another.

    • Thank you, Buffy. I’m glad you like my offering and I love your poetic response. Looks like I need to get that book!

  3. You made me cry. Not a drawn out bawl, but a few tears streamed down my cheeks as my soul and mind produced a thousand images and as many bits of science then mixed them together for unprecedented lovely moment.
    How I love trees!
    From the science to the leaves
    and their dance in a breeze;
    oh how love trees!
    Thank you so much David!
    Janine

    • My goodness, Janine. I’m not sure if I’m sorry or glad I brought you to tears, but thank you for telling me! And thank you for the lovely poem.

  4. Finally Together

    A reach, a stretch,
    a gentle touch.
    No need to jump
    or blindly rush.
    What seems simple,
    is worth the wait,
    This day will mark
    a special date.
    Elements try
    to tear you ‘part.
    Do not succumb
    your leafy heart.

Leave a Reply

