In lieu of

Hi everyone,

I’ve been working on a Greece-inspired story for several days. In my head it was going to be a great story. However . . .

In Lieu of a Story

Touristing in Greece was tough
On writing time but sure enough,
Bless my heart I tried.

Abundant feasting, wine, and sun
Reduced my story thoughts to one –
“But god it’s good!” I cried.

I marveled at my savoir faire.
I felt Apollo’s presence there.
You’ll forgive my pride.

Every word was marshaled right,
My focus fierce, my vision bright!
Truth won’t be denied.

At last I read my masterpiece,
My quintessential tale of Greece,
And then was mortified.

Expectations drowned en masse,
All I’d wrought was smoke and gas,
Poppycock without a plot,
Balderdash and tommyrot.
My trusted muse had lied.

I moaned and hung my weary head
And wrote this pity tale instead,
But bless my heart I tried!

(c) by David L. Harrison, all rights reserved

8 comments on “In lieu of

  1. Now you have to take your own advice, David. Stick your story into a file, and come back to it at another time! Happy Wednesday!

  2. Ha! Gloria (Galanes) and I have been here nearly a month now, and I know one day I must get back to work, but at this stage, I can’t seem to worry about doing any work at all. It’s not that I don’t feel creative, I just don’t’ want to create.

Leave a Reply

