Migration makes strange bedfellows

Hi everyone,

It’s that time of year when migrating birds sometimes pause around Goose Lake on their way to winter quarters. Yesterday a band of robins stopped in our back yard for a while to drink from small pools of water accumulated from a recent shower. Some took a quick bath while they had a chance. One, I was sorry to see, broke its neck flying into one of our windows and died on the patio.

Mixed in with the robins were other kinds of birds. I don’t know if they were traveling together all the way but it looked that way. I saw three blue jays and three other species that I couldn’t identify for sure. I needed Sneed Collard to tell me what they were. One might have been a cedar waxwing and another, maybe, was a brown-headed cowbird. There was another kind of jay-looking bird that had a tufted crown but was light tan colored. I think another could have been a lark bunting.

Whatever these strangers were, I’ve never seen them in our yard before so I assume they we passing through with the robins. Some robins migrate as much as one thousand miles to reach climes where they can switch from their usual summer diet of worms to a winter fare of fruit. Maybe their travel mates read the same brochures. Too bad that one of the group got no father than Goose Lake.

