Counting the numbers

Hi everyone,

When I get into a project with a a lot of parts and a contractual deadline, I stop often to recalibrate. The current one calls for me to write 50 poems by February 3. I started on September 1. As of today I’ve finished 21. On paper, it looks like I’m in decent shape. But November has travel in it. Factors in the wind. But I think, so far, so good.

I remember my dad counting his money when I was a boy. JOHN HARRISON prided himself on paying his bills on time. I have mental images of him, looking in his wallet, mentally calculating how much he had and how much he might need beyond whatever he had in the bank. Maybe that’s why counting and tracking numbers and priding myself on meeting deadlines have always been part of my own life.

5 comments on “Counting the numbers

  1. I, too, had such a father. My father’s name was most important to him. He wanted his name to stand for something, and it did. He was wise, he was my hero, and he actually lived the life he asked us to live. What a blessing to have a dad like that!

Leave a comment