Julie Clayton featured on Poetry from Daily Life

Hi everyone,

I’m glad to introduce you to a gifted young poet/performer, JULIE CLAYTON, a graduating senior from Nerinx Hall High School in Webster Groves, Missouri. Julie is Missouri’s 2024 champion of the annual Poetry Out Loud competition.

Poetry Out Loud is a national arts education program that encourages the study of great poetry by offering free educational materials and a dynamic recitation competition for high school students across the country. This program helps students master public speaking skills, build self-confidence, and learn about literary history and contemporary life. 

I was expected to be in Kansas City in March to help judge Missouri’s competition but was unable to make it back from Florida. I did contribute the slogan that appeared on the T-shirts made for the occasion: “A POEM IS WHAT YOU NEED.” Only students enrolled in grades 9-12 may compete.

Julie’s contribution runs much longer than my usual guest columns. I suggested to our editor, AMOS BRIDGES, that we might run it in two parts. I’m grateful to Amos for giving us the additional space to run the whole piece at once. Julie becomes our youngest guest since Poetry from Daily Life began. She is also the first poet (to my knowledge) to have competed in and won a state Poetry Out Loud competition. I think that what she has to say about her journey is worthy of the extra space. Thank you, Julie Clayton. Tomorrow (Sunday) I will publish the link so that everyone everywhere can read and enjoy your column!

One comment on “Julie Clayton featured on Poetry from Daily Life

Leave a comment