The Word of the Month for December

Hi everyone,

November brought a bumper crop of poems and comments. I hope all participants had fun. In the beginning, I didn’t anticipate the level of energy and enthusiasm the notion would generate. I’m pleased and grateful. Thanks to everyone who continues to keep Word of the Month Poetry Challenge going.

As you know, the word for November came from one of our star young poets, Rachel Heinrichs. She is a sixth grade student who was stretching her vocabulary and I thought flamboyant was a good word to stretch our imaginations too.

It occurs to me that I should start asking other poets to suggest the word for the month. I didn’t think of it in time for December, but starting in January I’ll ask individual poets who have contributed previously to W.O.M. to give us a word.

Steven Withrow, I hope you will do us the honor in January. I’ll also post a list of poets who will give us the word for each month in 2012.

For now, December, I’ll supply the word. And it is FAITH.