Piggy Wiglet soars to new heights

Hi everyone,

Here’s the latest on one of my old favorites, PIGGY WIGLET, Adventures of Piggy Wiglet originally published by Golden Books in 1973 and brought back to the market by Boyds Mills Press in 2007. Piggy Wiglet 2
I first heard from Mary Schweyer, a fan of PIGGY WIGLET, in 1995. She wrote one of the loveliest letters I’ve ever received to tell me why my storybook held such good memories for her. She and her sisters, Laurie, Sally, Debbie, and Becky, used to gather around their grandmother while she read the story about the runaway pig that chased the sun. I posted about this on January 18, 2014. Here’s a picture of the five women holding copies of the book. https://davidlharrison.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/5-women-holding-piggy-wiglet2.pdf

I haven’t corresponded with Mary’s sisters so Mary, if you see this, please tell everyone hello. Mary is married now and her last name is Cosker. She told me recently that as a teacher at a vocational school in Ohio she has read the book and given the back story to students 16 and 17 years old and that the diesel and auto mechanic students liked it best. w00t w00t for those kids!

What brought all these pleasant thoughts back to mind was a note from Mary two days ago. A friend found in a thrift store a framed print of THE HAY WAIN (1821), one of John Constable’s well known paintings, and painted Piggy Wiglet and the Ghostbusters on it. Mary sent a picture and here it is. 20151120_193023-1 She’s going to hang this in her living room. And what more could an author possibly ask! With all due respect to the marvelous Mr. Constable, I’m delighted. Mary, thank you!

2 comments on “Piggy Wiglet soars to new heights

Leave a comment