My Word of the Month poem

Hi everyone,

David L. Harrison
The Victim
David L. Harrison

Shirt sweat-welded to his chest,
he sits in tall grass,
water bottle tipped,
judging what’s left to mow.

Behind his back,
something stirs,
pauses,
snakes silently forward.

He caps his water,
tenses to rise,
decides to rest
another minute.

Insects cease droning.
Bird twitter falls silent.

Rising up from the grass,
green blade-scales
stuck to sweaty belly,
it lunges.

“Got you, Daddy!”

24 comments on “My Word of the Month poem

  1. How cleverly you set the stage, David. Suspense on EVERY line beginning with the title. I was afraid to read on lest the dreaded predator strike. What a joyful relief “Got you, Daddy!” provides.

    Cory

  2. Snow is forecast for later today. I’m SO looking forward to the smell of freshly-mown grass, even if mine doesn’t hold the same surprises as the lawn in the poem!

    • Good morning, Marylee. It’s snowing here, enough that I’m afraid this afternoon’s reading of my work might get snowed out. It’s a few hours yet so I’m still hoping for the best.

Leave a comment