The Fluency Development Lesson: Closing the Reading Gap

Hi everyone,

The new book with LYNNE KULICH and TIM RASINSKI comes out July 15 and weighs in at 456 pages and two pounds. If pre-orders are an indication, it should do well. It already ranks #120 in Adult & Continuing Education Books.

I thought I’d show you an add that our publisher, Benchmark Education Company, has recently released. .

My part of the book was to write ten poems for each of grades 1-5. Here’s an example for third grade.

Lines

From the theatre door halfway down the block,
people stand in line to see the show.
They inch forward, progress stop and go,
clutch their collars tight against the rain.
Though tickets cost too much they don’t complain.
Once it starts, they know the show will rock.

Halfway around the world, another line,
naked feet shuffling in the dust.
To fill their water pots a daily must.
Trickles from a pipe a welcome sign.
They don’t complain, what is there to say?
A pot of water means another day.

2 comments on “The Fluency Development Lesson: Closing the Reading Gap

  1. I found, as you may recall, that poetry as I used it (similar to Tim’s FDL) made a huge huge difference for my third graders. I kept teaching once I discovered it for 7 years post retirement age because I was both intrigued and delighted to have found something that not only worked but that the kids loved. I even went to observe this in action at Tim’s Kent State program Camp Read A Lot!! So I am IN and excited. I believe there are “many roads to Rome.” As a highly educated ie 2 masters and an ABD in literacy and reading, teacher, I had the desire to match student needs with an approach that would work. I studied, I tutored, I observed and I worked hard, but I loved it and the success that was evident to so many. Patting myself on the back ONLY to compliment this wonderful new book, Tim’s program, your poetry and poetry in general. I am excited to get my hands on this!!! Meeting Tim as I did was kismet and a good story. His very close friends in Kent are very close friends of ours and that was surely a key introduction. Bravo, David for all of your wonderful contributions for children on such a varied level!!!!! Still wish I could have taken your Highlights course.

    • Good morning, Janet. It is always a pleasure to hear from you. I, too, was sorry that the fates didn’t allow you to join me at one of the poetry workshops. I appreciate your in depth consideration of the new book and the background that leads you to your conclusions. Thank you for taking the time. My best, David

Leave a comment