7 comments on “Poem of the Week – 10-15-09

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Poem of the Week – 10-15-09 « Children's Author David L. Harrison's Blog [davidlharrison.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. Remmembering Twelve

    Do I want to remember
    when I was twelve
    so long ago.
    When I was suffering
    between being a kid
    and a teenage brat.
    Making demands,
    no one understood.
    Dreams of
    far away places.
    I wanted to run.
    I wanted to explore.
    I wanted to be
    like the city kids.
    I was tired of being
    a country kid.

    by Mary Nida Smith

    • Mary Nida,

      Thanks so much for sharing your memory poem about being twelve. I like the poem a lot. It’s honest and the reader knows you better because of those few, well selected words. Such is the beauty and power of poetry.

      David

    • I love the illustration too. CONNECTING DOTS was illustrated by Kelley Cunningham Cousineau and I’ve very fond of her work. She captured the moment beautifully.
      David

  3. Rosa

    Here sitting by the rosebush
    I found a place to cry.
    My Grandmom died two days ago.
    I’m here.
    I don’t know why.
    Or why it took two days for tears,
    Or why I have to hide.
    Why did my Grandmom leave so soon?
    What happens when you die?

    • Liz,

      That’s a poignant memory. I think it’s healthy to write about sorrow and uncertainty and if young readers see our examples, they are more likely to understand that it’s okay for them to write from the heart too.

      Thanks,
      David

Leave a comment