Poem of the Week – The Bus

When Sandy Asher selected poems from my work to inspire her play, SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK, this was among those she chose. It’s recited by a number of children “riding” the bus as it serpentines around the stage picking up or dropping off students. There is quite a bit of syncopation in the poem so if you read it aloud, maybe with young friends, don’t hesitate to read it the way you feel it.

Sandy’s play has been produced for years in this country and abroad. I’ve seen it a number of times and love it every time. I’m always impressed by how Sandy took characters from poems that were written for collections at different times and wove them into a story that features a class of fourth graders, a missing cat, a showoff boy named Sid, and the class genius named Bradley. Sandy, if you read this and wish to comment, I’m sure you can add to what I’ve outlined about your marvelous play.

David

10 comments on “Poem of the Week – The Bus

  1. I never had to ride the bus since both my parents were teachers. My boys, however, have to be at the bus stop by 6:30 a.m. I’d say they fall into the lazyhead category most mornings.

    • Hi Yousei,

      I rode the bus and remember it as a new adventure each day, two actually – going and coming.

      In my book, Somebody Catch My Homework, I wrote a poem about being late for the bus. That was inspired by my son who used to hate getting up and racing down our long driveway to catch the bus.

      David

    • That gives me an idea for another funny poem about our life in “the sticks” of Colorado. My son caught the bus at the bottom of a dirt hill, 1.7 miles from our log house. and it rained a LOT

      Thanks!!!!

      • Hmmm, I see where you could go with that image. If you write your poem, I hope you’ll share it with us!

        David

  2. Hi, David —

    Thank you for your kind words about my play SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK. Couldn’t’ve done it without your wonderful poems, including those in your book SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK. (Such a great title; I was lucky to be able to steal it!)

    For those in the Maryland area, I see on the Dramatic Publishing Web site that there’s a new production of the play coming right up on February 5 at Take the State Drama School in Keymar, MD.

    Folks might like to know that the original production of the play, by Good Company Theatre in Springfield, MO, was a fundraising event for your Reading Round-up program, aimed at putting new books in the public school libraries. Anyone wanting to read all about that can go to http://www.dramaticpublishing.com, scroll down the menu on the left and click on “Articles and Interviews.” You’ll see my article on Good Company listed.

    Speaking of Reading Round-up, is that program still going on? If so, it’s had a long and, I hope, happy life!

    Sandy

    • Hi Sandy,

      Thanks for supplying the additional information about SOMEBODY CATCH MY HOMEWORK. I’m glad it’s making a new appearance soon.

      Thanks, too, for asking about Reading Roundup. We are alive and well and in our tenth year or so of bringing the need for library books to the public’s attention. I’ve lost track of the dollars for books we’re received over the years but it’s a very substantial amount when you consider that one donor gave us $100,000.

    • Hart to imagine, isn’t it? Our wonderful benefactor wishes to remain anonymous and we respect that. I don’t know his or her name but remain extremely thankful for the opportunity to add so many more books to the school libraries.

      David

  3. David, your school bus poem brings back good and bad memories.Sandy, I always thought it would be neat to see one of your plays. I have written three not so good children’s plays. I love to attend good plays. Sagar Creek Art Center, Siloam Springs, AR., I believe still has a yearly contest for writing a children’s play. The winner’s play is performed at the center.

    • Mary Nida,

      I leave the play writing in Sandy’s hands but I love working with her. Lately we wrote a manuscript called Jesse and Grace in which we took turns writing the thoughts and reactions of two best friends in fourth grade. The play is great fun so maybe it will be produced near you one of these days.

      David

Leave a comment