From my e-book from nine years ago: GOOSE LAKE

Hi everyone,

A very dear friend of mine, Deanna Smith Schuler, has asked if I might record some poems from GOOSE LAKE, A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF A LAKE, which I published as an e-book in 2011. Editors who read the manuscript liked it but said it was too specific so wouldn’t have a national appeal. I believed in the work so I ventured for my one and only time so far into the world of electronic books. I’ll make the video as requested, hopefully this week, but thinking about the collection again made me want to share some of it with you today. I’ve done this before but it has been quite a while.

Sylvia Vardell and Janet Wong wrote the foreword for GOOSE LAKE. Sladjana Vasic’s illustrations captured beautifully my sense of mystery and intense interest in everything about the lake.

You can buy it for $1.99 on Amazon or B&N. Here’s the cover. Here’s the introduction. To those of you are familiar with my love affair with the lake behind our house that I dubbed “Goose Lake” many years ago (it has no official name that I know of), this will come as no surprise.

The lake behind our house entertains me. In, around, and above the water a cast of swimmers, flyers, hoppers, chirpers, croakers, honkers, quackers, and hissers comes and goes, lives or dies, eats or is eaten, each a valuable member of the lake’s community.

According to season, rising suns paint mornings fresh as spring. Fish leap for insects. Turtles lie out on rocks like summer tourists sunning at the beach.

Fall rains strip leaves from trees and storms howl across the water. Ice covers the lake. Snow covers the ice.

Then it’s spring again and ducks wander the banks, searching for secret places to hide their eggs.

If only you could be here to share my binoculars when I look out my kitchen window or lounge beside the water at dusk. There are so many sights I would love to show you! Since you cannot join me in person, I’ll do the next best thing. I’ll bring Goose Lake to you.

And here is how the book begins.
When we moved here in 1989, we were not welcome. As I stooped in the driveway for my first morning paper, a delegation of geese hissing like punctured tires flat-footed it toward me across the grass. This was not a social call. My new house squatting on their land beside their lake was an outrage.

Indignant to their pinfeathers the geese closed ranks and delivered their ultimatum in a furious chorus:

Bills hard as chisels,
tails aquiver,
necks recoiling like missile launchers
firing off fierce glares —
the posse bristles pigeon-toed
to enforce goose law:

Trespassers
will be hissed
until
they learn their lesson.

Text copyright © 2011 by David L. Harrison
Illustrations copyright © 2011 by Sladjana Vasic
All rights reserved.

Can’t go wrong for two bucks. (:>

8 comments on “From my e-book from nine years ago: GOOSE LAKE

  1. Thank you David for sharing Goose Lake with us. I live near but not on a lake – but walk the half-mile (or maybe a third of a mile i’m not sure) to the lake often… you may have seen my photos on facebook. There are only four houses on my lake and right now only one is lived in year-round. It makes me want to do the same thing, write a book of poems about my lake…
    I was surprised that in Missouri the lake freezes over… i know ours does. It is thawing ever earlier… this year, ice was out on March 30 – and the geese were back; last year, April 19; the year before, April 29th…

    • I see you are a note taker, too, Yvona. I have monthly files of pictures that go back many years. I used to also keep notes each month leading up to the year when I wrote the book. I don’t take notes as much these days unless something unusual occurs, but I still get an urge once in a while to write another set of poems about this place.

    • Thank you, dear Laura! Please note my error of memory. The book costs all of $1.99 rather than $0.99. Sorry about that. (But I think it’s still a bargain.)

  2. I bought this book many years ago…and loved it! Thanks for sharing Goose Lake with all of us, David! (Of course, I feel kinda lucky that I’ve seen it “for real!”) Looking forward to my next visit.

  3. David, Thank you so much for recording your poems from this ebook… the year it was released I read a poem a day with my class. They loved guessing what animal or bit of nature would be discussed next! I can’t wait to share your recordings with my students! 🙂

    • Hi, Deanna! I’m looking forward to recording some poems from GOOSE LAKE, One day this week I hope. I’ll let you know.

Leave a comment