Article in SCBWI Insight

Hi everyone,

Last month I had an article in Insight Newsletter, a publication of SCBWI (Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). As one of the only children’s poets appointed as a state poet laureate (maybe the only one), I wanted to encourage other children’s poets to consider making the effort to represent their own state. SCBWI has 22,000 members so I thought that was a good place to make my pitch. I think the whole article might be a bit long to post here but this link will take you there if you’re interested.

https://www.scbwi.org/become-a-state-poet-laureate

If you know someone to whom this might appeal, I hope you will share the link. Thank you.

2 comments on “Article in SCBWI Insight

  1. Fabulous article, David! You are an inspiration to so many. Thank you for sharing your insights and experiences, as well as your encouragement to children’s poets across the country!

    • Thank you, Heidi. I’m glad you like the article. Let’s hope that other states will find the hidden treasures among their children’s poets!

Leave a comment