Charlotte’s grandchildren many generations removed

Hi everyone,

Sandy and I spent Saturday night with Robin, Tim, and Kris on Table Rock Lake. Yesterday Sandy and I were having morning coffee on the deck of our lodge unit when I noticed a silken strand floating in the sunlight. When I looked more closely, I made out others. Some were catching on the tree limbs nearby. Others were rising and falling on the air, going where it would take them to find their destinies. One came across my lap.

At the end of each silken thread was a tiny speck of life. I remembered the scene when Charlette’s children were released from their eggs and Wilbur watched in amazement as they floated away. There was no pig around yesterday to watch the little miracle unfold, but I thought again of E. B. White’s wonderful tale and thought, if I listened more carefully, I might hear a chorus of excited voices on the breeze calling out “Wheeeeeeee!”