WRITERS AT WORK – Obstacles to Writing (Part 3), also featuring Guest Author Veda Boyd Jones

Greetings from WRITERS AT WORK, the ongoing chat between Sandy Asher and David Harrison about the nitty-gritty of being writers. Rules are simple. We select a question that is often posed and take turns (two each) responding to it. We invite others to join in the conversation and will post longer efforts as Guest Authors on future WRITERS AT WORK slots. In addition to today’s guest, Veda Boyd Jones, we already have Amie Brockway on October 19, and Kristi Holl on October 26.

October 12, 2010
Topic 2: Obstacles to Writing
Response 3: David

Hi Sandy,

Good point about the difference between writing fiction and nonfiction. Up to a point, that is. When I’m into reading for a nonfiction book, making notes is fairly routine and allows for a certain amount of interruption to the process. But good nonfiction is far more than reporting, of course. To hold any audience’s attention for long, the writer must find ways to weave the nonfictional information into a narrative that interests the reader and keeps him or her turning pages. That’s when the story teller in me takes the lead, and that’s when the usual need for peaceful thinking time clicks in.

Okay, now for the third part of our question about obstacles to writing: internal ones. For many of us, this is the worst culprit of all. Self induced problems run the gamut and I’ll bet that everyone reading this will have his or her own list of reasons not to write. (If you have your own particular demons, let us know so we can share them.)

Here are some of mine. I need to clear my e-mail. The inbox must be empty. Ditto the sent box and the delete box. I want my time clear of such obligations before I turn to my day’s work. I also check my blog about 200 times a day to make sure I don’t owe someone a response to a comment left there. By the way, Kate Klise suffers from the same need to clear her e-mail as a requisite to writing. I drink coffee most of the morning from 6:00 on. It might surprise me to keep track of the time I burn between my computer and the kitchen, pouring or warming cups of coffee.

As the day progresses I wander the house to check on this or that. Maybe to look at the lake to see if the swan has returned. I’ll dig into a box of crackers and wonder if the salt is really all that bad for me. I suddenly remember that I owe someone a response so I stop for that. I make a list of things I need to be doing, like WRITING SOMETHING.

I check for e-mail. Maybe an editor has responded to a query or someone has invited me to speak somewhere or . . . sigh.

I get down some words. Oh yes! Wow does this feel good. Why didn’t I put off all those other things and do this first? Will I ever learn? Sometimes at this point I take my pad to some other part of the house, outside even, to get away from this computer. But you know what? As disorganized as my system appears to be (even to me!), it’s my system, and it has been working out for some time now. I’m often congratulated for being so prolific. I smile and want to tell people, “If you only knew what I have to overcome each day before I write my first word!”

Before I send this back to you, Sandy, I want to share the remarks of Guest Author Veda Boyd Jones, a prolific author and frequent speaker on the subject of writing literature for young people. Veda, the stage is yours.

Sandy and David,

Great idea to keep a running conversation going by working writers. When I first started writing, I could only write from 1:00-3:00 in the afternoon. Jim came home from work for lunch, then headed back, and I put the boys down for their naps. Anyone with kids knows you can’t think when kids are tugging on you needing this or that. I needed silence and alone time to think and write.

So, I learned early on that there’s no waiting for inspiration to write. I’d read what I’d written the day before and then I’d start from there. It’s like listening to a book on tape in the car. You pick right up where you left off. I guess you just get in the zone, focus.

I also learned quickly to take pen and paper to Little League practice. In the car I was alone, even thought chaos reigned on the baseball field.

Once all three boys were in school, I set a routine. Do the breakfast dishes, laundry in the washer, sweep the kitchen floor, plan supper, all those everyday things, then I’d be at the computer by nine. Pre-caller-ID, I’d answer the phone because it could be a family matter, but if it was a friend, I’d talk a bit, then say I had to get something finished.

I agree with David that everyone perceived that I didn’t work. (Did they think I just ordered books in the mail with my name on the cover?) Of course, I was a room mother, and I got stuck with the worst behaving kids on field trips since I was used to three boys (although such good sons they are). Still, family does come first, to a degree. There’s such a thing as overindulgence that keeps kids from becoming self-sufficient. It’s absolutely a balancing act.

You can see that I had the luxury (and fatigue) of being an at-home mom, and that let me carve writing time out of the day. When I’m asked how to become a successful writer, I usually answer, “First, marry an architect.”

Veda Boyd Jones
author of NELLIE THE BRAVE
http://www.vedaboydjones.com

9 comments on “WRITERS AT WORK – Obstacles to Writing (Part 3), also featuring Guest Author Veda Boyd Jones

  1. Well I’ll start hunting for an architect, haha… Great lesson guys, informative and entertaining at the same time……… I’ll be away for some time, I have to deal with personal inconveniences, will miss this blog and once all is calm, my version of calm at least I’ll come a’knockin

    • Dear Silindile,

      I hope everything goes well while you are away. You will be missed so hurry back as soon as you can!

      David

  2. Hi Sandy, Veda and David. I see all creative people have obstacles of some source to blaze through. Some we create for ourselves and then there are the many honey does. For a month I have been trying to get work finished on two bath rooms with water damage. Hopefully, Friday the work will be done.

    Mary Nida

    • Hi Mary Nida,

      Too bad the rest of the world doesn’t KNOW that we need time and space to weave our wondrous tales. I think Jane Yolen has suggested that writing usually comes at a price and is therefore all the more precious when it happens. If she didn’t say that, it sounds like something she might have said.

      David

  3. Veda, so THAT’s the secret! Order books in the mail with your name on them. Great tip! 🙂 Honestly, it is so–writing is viewed as work only by those who do it. Thank you for adding to our community of understanding.

  4. You all had me chuckling as I read about your obstacles to writing! Ditto for me and sooooooooooooo…many more. These obstacles and procastinations also transfer to other areas of my life. But when I do succeed in turning out an inspiring poem, even in the midst of my chaos and other-things-that-need-to-be-done, I marvel. Thanks for validating that I am in great company.

      • Hi, All —

        Thanks so much for the great response to our on-going and ever-widening chat about the challenges and triumphs of writing. It was our hope from the start of Writers at Work that we’d all feel less alone if we shared our daily ups and downs. Your comments and the willingness of other authors to jump into the discussion certainly make ME feel less alone! Ordinarily, no one, not even another writer, gets to watch writers write or listen in while they think about and sometimes fret about that writing — or the lack of it. I’m so glad you’re enjoying and benefiting from this open conversation drawn straight from our our hearts and our own experiences. I appreciate your company.
        Sandy

  5. Pingback: Joplin, Missouri « Children's Author David L. Harrison's Blog

Leave a comment